NSBAIDRD ~ Nevada State Board of Architecture, Interior Design and Residential Design
Registration Requirements: Residential Designers  |
 
Applicants must meet the following requirements:
  • Be at least 21 years of age and of good moral character
AND
  • Have a total of 5 years of education and practical training (as outlined in NAC 623.505); and
  • Pass the Residential Design Examination
OR
  • Hold an architectural registration from another US jurisdiction.
 

Registration By Reciprocity  |
 
Architects registered to practice in another state may apply for registration by reciprocity and are not required to pass the Residential Design Exam. Applicants need not be NCARB certified.

IMPORTANT:
Completion of the reciprocity process, and issuance of a license, is mandatory before any activities constituting the practice of residential design may begin for projects located in Nevada. Failure to comply with this state law is a misdemeanor and may result in the denial of your registration.

NRS Statute 623.180: No person may practice architecture or use the title of architect; or practice residential design or use the title residential designer; or practice as a registered interior designer or use the title of registered interior designer in this state without having a certificate issued to him under the provisions of this chapter.
 

Exam Information  |
 
The Residential Design Exam is a four-part exam, consisting of three written examinations and one graphic examination.  The written exams cover:
  • Structural technology
  • Materials and methods of construction
  • Building systems and life safety
The written portion of the exam is offered in February and August. The graphics portion is only administered in August.
 
 

Fees  |
 
Application Forms (if sent from the board office) $ 25
Examination for Registration as a Residential Designer (if the entire, four-part exam is taken at the same time) $300
Examination for Registration as a Residential Designer - Graphic portion only $150
Examination for Registration as a Residential Designer - Each written portion taken independently $ 75
Application Processing (reciprocal registration only) $300
Certificate (one time fee, upon initial registration) $125
Annual Registration $150
Annual Registration (prorated for initial registration in November or December) $ 75
Stamp (registration by examination only) $ 25
Late renewal of an expired certificate within 1 year after expiration (in addition to annual registration fee) $220
Late renewal of a certificate which has been expired for more than 1 year, but not more than 3 years (in addition to annual registration fee) $300
Restoration of a revoked certificate $300
Replacement of a certificate $ 30
 

Stamping Requirements  |
 
NAC 623.760 Seal for residential designer.

1.  Each residential designer shall obtain and possess an embossed seal, a seal designed as a rubber stamp or a seal in electronic format that complies with the following specifications:

     (a) The diameter of the seal must be approximately 1 7/8 inches.

     (b) The seal must contain the name of the registrant, his or her number of registration and conform to the following design:

 


 







2.  Each plan, specification, report or other document issued by a registrant must be signed and must be sealed or stamped by the registrant either manually or electronically.

     [Bd. of Architecture, § 17, eff. 5-7-80]—(NAC A 11-21-88; A by Bd. of Architecture, Interior Design & Residential Design by R120-01, 3-4-2002; R012-06, 5-4-2006; R076-13, 2-26-2014)


    information about sealing and signing documents
 

Forms and Notices  |
 
 

Rules of Conduct - Residential Designers

Registration Renewal Form

Residential Designer-Architect Agreement (required for RDs working under responsible control of architects per NRS 623.353)