REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS: INTERIOR DESIGNERS

Applicants must meet the following requirements:

  • Have successfully completed a program of interior design accredited by the Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) or one of the substantially equivalent programs listed below;
  • Have at least 2 years of experience in interior design;
  • AND
  • Pass all three sections of the October 2000 (or later) version of the National Council for Interior Design Qualification (NCIDQ) exam
  • OR
  • Pass any prior version of the NCIDQ exam AND the Nevada Supplemental Examination for Registered Interior Designers.
  • Education Information

    CIDA Accredited Programs:

    The Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA), formerly known as FIDER, is a specialized accrediting agency, accrediting interior design programs at colleges and universities in North America.

    Refer to CIDA's website to see if a particular interior design program is accredited.

    Substantially Equivalent Programs:

    Council for Interior Design Qualification (CIDQ) Alternative Review Program (ARP)

    This option is available to applicants with a minimum of a bachelor's degree in interior design who did not graduate from a CIDA-accredited program. Applicants for this program must have a minimum of five years work experience in interior design and must be able to document competencies based on current CIDA standards in specific areas.

    Visit CIDQ's website for more information on the ARP.

    NSBAIDRD's Interior Design Program Review

    Applicants with a minimum of a bachelor's degree in interior design who did not graduate from a CIDA-accredited program may apply to NSBAIDRD to have their educational program evaluated to determine if it is substantially equivalent to a CIDA-accredited program. These applicants may apply under one of two provisions:

  • Any applicant may choose to have his/her education evaluated by the board on an education-only basis. By statute, the board may only look at the applicant's curriculum and student work under this provision. There is a $300 processing fee due upon application.
    RID Non-CIDA Education Application
  • Applicants who graduated more than five years ago may use work experience to supplement deficiencies in their educational program. These applicants will be evaluated under the same standards as those applying under the first provision. There is a $300 processing fee due upon application.
    RID Non-CIDA Education/Experience Application
  • Experience Information

    All applicants must have a minimum of two years of interior design experience.

    Applicants for registered interior design may gain the required experience through the process set forth by the Council for Interior Design Qualification (CIDQ).

    Visit the CIDQ website for more information on gaining and documenting qualified work experience.

    Exam Information

    All applicants must pass the NCIDQ Exam. Those who passed the exam earlier than October 2000, must also pass the Nevada Supplemental Exam.

    The NCIDQ Exam is a three-part exam designed to measure minimum competency in the practice of interior design. For more information on the NCIDQ exam, refer to the CIDQ website.

    The Nevada Supplemental Exam was created pursuant to NRS 623.200 to test registered interior designer applicants in additional technical and professional knowledge not covered on the NCIDQ Exam prior to October 2000.

    Information regarding NCIDQ Exams passed prior to October 2000

    Nevada Supplemental Exam Study Guide

    Fees

    Application Forms (if sent from the board office) $ 25
    Written Examination for Registration as a Registered Interior Designer (Nevada Supplemental Exam) $100
    Applications which require special action by the board (Non-CIDA Education Evaluation) $300
    Certificate (one time fee, upon initial registration) $125
    Annual Registration $150
    Annual Registration (prorated for initial registration in November or December) $ 75
    Stamp (registration by examination only) $ 25
    Late renewal of an expired certificate within 1 year after expiration (in addition to annual registration fee) $220
    Late renewal of a certificate which has been expired for more than 1 year, but not more than 3 years (in addition to annual registration fee) $300
    Restoration of a revoked certificate $300
    Replacement of a certificate $ 30

    Stamping Requirements

    NAC 623.755 Seal for interior designer.

    1. Each registered interior designer shall obtain and possess an embossed seal, a seal designed as a rubber stamp or a seal in electronic format which must:
      1. Be an equilateral triangle, each side of which must be 2 1/2 inches;
      2. Contain the name of the registrant and his number of registration; and
      3. Conform to the following design:
    2. Registered Interior Designer Seal
    3. Each plan, specification, report or other document issued by a registrant must be signed and must be sealed or stamped by him either manually or electronically.

      Information about sealing and signing documents.

    Forms and Notices

  • Applications for Registration
  • Change of Address Form
  • Rules of Conduct - Interior Designers
  • Registration Renewal Form
  • Written Contracts Required for Registrants
  •